“The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim” Game Review

Fus-Ro-Dah! This open world fantasy RPG was released on November 11, 2011, and soon sold over 20 million copies worldwide across all systems. Before I begin, let me address the stupid practice by ZeniMax that will piss you off. Why the hell am I paying for mods in the Steam Workshop that I could easily download for free? Glad that’s out of the way. Anyway I first got this game for the PS3 on Legendary Edition with all 3 of its DLCs: Dragonborn, Hearthfire,and Dawnguard. My favorite is definitely Dragonborn, as it ties to the main story. Speaking of which, set 200 years after the events of Oblivion, the Nordic god of Destruction, Alduin, comes down to Earth in the form of a dragon. As the last event prophesiezed by the Elder Scrolls, he awakes the world’s dormant dragons in an attempt to destroy the world. The Dragonborn, a mortal chosen by the gods to wield the power of dragons, is the only one who can stop them. There are also two separate major stories. The Nordic Stormcloaks, led by Ulfric, are waging a civil war against the Imperials. And the Dark Elves are secretly planning their dominance over the Imperials. After an extensive character creation, players get to go out into the beautiful and massive world of Skyrim, so if you see a city in the distance, chances are that you can go there and invest more hours. The developers have also added a new character development system that allows you to follow any playstyle you want. As if that weren’t enough, the dragon fights are epic, the quests are diverse and nearly endless, and the number of things to do is amazing. It’s sad, though that these are marred by a few technical issues. Mainly the glitches. I didn’t run into anything serious; the worst that happened was one dragon fight glitch late in the game. The A.I. can also be inconsistent, ranging from completely normal to really questionable. My worst moment came when I exited a cave and my companion managed to stop moving for at least minute. When taken into consideration, however, these problems are almost insignificant compared to the scope of the game. Now if you’ll excuse me, there’s a mountain full of replay value for me to sink my teeth into.

Leave a Reply

